Review of Transformers: More than Meets the Eye #45 by James Roberts

That's right Misfire, you correct that guy.  That's important.
That’s right Misfire, you correct that guy. That’s important.

I know I’m late to the party here, but I just read this issue and had to share.

If you had told me years ago that I would be so enthralled in a story about robots, I probably would have laughed at you and then asked which ones.  Ever since the release of those fairly awful Transformers movies, everyone knows the basics – Optimus Prime, Megatron, Starscream, Bumblebee, etc. – but for Transformers fans, there’s so much more.

Issue #45 centers around the scavengers.  I’ll admit, even after binge watching the old show, Prime, and Animated, I had no idea who these characters were – except of course Grimlock.  I did a lot of catching up with MTMTE prior to this point and had fallen in love with the quirky cast of characters that were still relatively new to me.  The scavengers had been in the series before, but in this issue I, as a reader, really got a feel for them.

It's okay, Crankcase.  I know how you feel.
It’s okay, Crankcase. I know how you feel.

Goofy slackers, loveable misfits, decepticons who just want to live a good life with friends, have fun, and not scrape by drinking cheap engex – the scavengers are strangely understandable.  Misfire is trying to rehabilitate Grimlock, Fulcrum likes watching stand up comedy, and Krok just wants to live the good life without Misfire stealing his engex.  All of this on top of the group playing a pseudo laser tag like game with sucker darts on their ship.  The scavengers are a likeable bunch.

This in itself is a credit to James Roberts’ writing.  He has taken these relative unknowns (for me at least) and

introduced them in a way that makes me not only empathize, but really like them.  Without intending to, I’ve grown fond of these robo-dorks, all in the space of one issue.  Well done, Mr. Roberts.  The art in MTMTE, done by Alex Milne, is always incredible.  He somehow manages to capture all the details of a robotic body, while at the same time manages to make the characters extremely expressive.

The issue ends with a surprise visit from the new Duly Appointed Officer of the Tyrest Accord – Fortress Maximus.  I cannot wait to read the next issue and find out what next befalls my new, darling screw ups.

Leave a Reply

